Tag Archives: harvard university physics

2013 TAME-Encana Scholars

The Texas Alliance for Minorities in Engineering has announced the 2013 TAME-Encana Scholars. They are:

  • Sergio Aleman, San Antonio (University of Texas at Austin, Biology)
  • Rachel Andrews, Fort Worth (University of Texas at Austin, Mathematics)
  • Nicole Aragon, Fort Worth (University of Texas at Dallas, Mechanical Engineering)
  • Antonio Bujanda, Presidio (Texas Tech University, Mechanical Engineering)
  • Daniel Guajardo, Lubbock (University of Texas at Austin, Mathematics & Mechanical Engineering)
  • Nancy Kha, Pflugerville (University of Texas at Austin, Biology)
  • Saahil Mehta, Amarillo (Harvard University, Physics)
  • Veronica Miles, Amarillo (Xavier University of Louisiana, Biology Pre-med)
  • Zoi Thompson, Pflugerville (University of Texas at Austin, Environmental Science)

The announcement goes on:

Sponsored by Encana, this annual award is offered to high school seniors who have participated in TAME programs, demonstrate academic excellence, and are pursuing a major in science, technology, engineering, or mathematics. Each recipient will receive a $2,500 award for the academic year.

The scholarship recipients were chosen from a slate of deserving candidates representing almost all chapters across Texas. A selection committee comprised of TAME Board Members and Encana representatives selected the recipients based on their applications, academic performance, essays, and letters of recommendation.

Three other students are currently being considered for TAME scholarships at Texas A&M University. Current TAME Scholars will be invited to apply for “Evergreen Scholarships” sponsored by Conoco Phillips.

Congratulations to all the TAME Scholars!